Skip to main content

Who we are

SMC logo

The Social Mobility Commission is an independent statutory body (an organisation created by an act of Parliament).

In line with the Welfare Reform and Work Act 2016, it is a continuation of the body previously called the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission.

The Social Mobility Commission comprises our Chair, Alun Francis, two Deputy Chairs and four Commissioners, all appointed by a public appointments process. They are supported by a Secretariat of around twenty civil servants working in the Cabinet Office.


Find out more about our Chair, Alun Francis, Deputy Chairs Resham Kotecha and Rob Wilson, and Commissioners, Dr Raghib Ali, Ryan Henson, Parminder Kohli, and Baroness Tina Stowell.

Our people Our people button
Card Side Image